Show Info & Media

Tchaikovsky "Pathetique" - North Carolina Symphony Classical Series

November 16-17, 2018
Meymandi Concert Hall

North Carolina Symphony

Joshua Weilerstein, conductor

Michelle Cann, piano


Beethoven: Leonore Overture No. 3

Price: Piano Concerto in One Movement

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6, “Pathétique”


The “Pathétique” Symphony has been shrouded in mystery ever since Tchaikovsky’s mysterious death just days after its premiere. One thing is certain—he put his soul into his final symphony, and there it remains. Florence Price’s thrilling Piano Concerto is infused with the influence of her African-American roots, and Beethoven’s Leonore Overture No. 3 bursts with operatic drama.


November 16 - 8:00 PM
November 17 - 8:00 PM


Show playing at Meymandi Concert Hall - November 16-17, 2018